Anna and the French Kiss – Stephanie Perkins

17453983Author: Stephanie Perkins

Rating: 5/5

Purchase from

Amazon | Barnes & Noble |

Books A Million

SYNOPSIS

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris–until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, Étienne has it all…including a serious girlfriend.

But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss?

MY REVIEW. BEWARE, POSSIBLE SPOILERS.

I love this book to pieces. I want to hug it and love it forever.

Anna and The French Kiss has to be one of the best contemporary novels I’ve ever read. Perkins delivers a believable romance and amazing characters to create a novel that was so good I didn’t want part with it until my eyes were so tired and blurry I couldn’t see the page anymore. If this novel doesn’t make you laugh, swoon, and want to shove St. Clair and Anna together like barbie dolls and say “NOW KISS”, then you’re doing it wrong. While the name is a tad bit cheesy, don’t let it fool you. This book is fabulous. A gem. If I hadn’t promised myself I wouldn’t buy anything until I read the books I had, I would be scouring Amazon for the second and third.

The writing is so beautifully descriptive that I could see myself through Anna’s eyes, taking in this wondrous, beautiful foreign country. The characters are all flushed out and realistic, even down to the secondary characters we hate, like Dave and Toph. I adored Anna and St. Clair, Josh and Rashmi, and Meredith.

Etienne St. Clair. Gah, if you need a new book boyfriend, this is where you’d look. He’s so easy to fall for, and I was with Anna when she was crushing on them, and her feelings began to gradually deepen. I’ll admit, I primarily liked him in the beginning because he’s British and I am a HUMAN GIRL, and we are not immune to British accents. St. Clair is sexy without trying, and he’s not the most popular best looking guy in school, or so perfect looking it physically hurts to look at him.

And Anna! I usually don’t care much for the lead because she’s usually insta-love and gets annoying fast, but I loved Anna. And not because my name is Anna and I’m from the South and it was too easy to pretend I was her. But because she was funny, with a wicked sense of humor. I loved that she was a stranger in a foreign land and suffered the trials and tribulations of an expat. I, too, would’ve wanted to forgo dinner if I had to butcher a language or point and hope that they understood my three year old actions. Seriously, once you read this, the first thing you’ll probably want to do is go book a flight to Paris. I had never cared much for France, wanting to go to Croatia and England instead, but now this is definitely on my list of places to visit.

All in all, Anna and The French Kiss is a easy, fun, laugh-out-loud, full of heart novel. I’ve been going through a reading slump lately disliking everything I read, and this book rejuvenated me and gave me hope for YA fiction.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. When I read this a few years ago, my reaction to St. Clair was just: *swoon, drool, swoon, repeat* haha 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hello

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Goodreads

  • Proudly partnered with

