Never Eighteen – Megan Bostic

8419647

Author: Megan Bostic

Rating: 4/5

Purchase from

Amazon | Barnes & Noble |

Books A Million

SYNOPSIS

Austin Parker is on a journey to bring truth, beauty, and meaning to his life. Austin Parker is never going to see his eighteenth birthday. At the rate he’s going, he probably won’t even see the end of the year. The doctors say his chances of surviving are slim to none even with treatment, so he’s decided it’s time to let go. But before he goes, Austin wants to mend the broken fences in his life. So with the help of his best friend, Kaylee, Austin visits every person in his life who touched him in a special way. He journeys to places he’s loved and those he’s never seen. And what starts as a way to say goodbye turns into a personal journey that brings love, acceptance, and meaning to Austin’s life.

MY REVIEW. BEWARE, POSSIBLE SPOILERS.

Gosh, I really am a sucker for these stories. I know I’ll cry, and ugly sob, and possibly make myself sick and gross with snot and all that nasty stuff, but I can’t help it. There’s usually something so profound and meaningful in these books, about living life and living everyday as if it’s your last – a far cry for the typical YA protagonists who jump into harms way without a second thought and cry over some boy they’ve known three days.

Possibly the worst feeling in life is life that has been unlived, ending too early. With the disease rapidly wracking his body, Austin knows he doesn’t have much time left. Instead of giving up or making himself a bucket list, he decides to try to fix everyone in his life he knows is broken. He uses his illness as a warning to try and convince them to cast aside the unhealthy and unhappy lives their leading and immerse themselves into a life worth living – while they still have it. Because they’re worth it, and they all deserve to live a life full of love and hope.

Austin knows that not everyone can be fixed, but he’s hopeful in that aspect, having such a positive outlook by saying, “at least I have tried.” So beautifully written and thought provoking.

Austin even takes his own situations into question, and tells his best friend that he’s loved her forever. This book, to say the least, quite frankly killed me. After telling myself I wasn’t going to do this anymore – not after Before I Die and The Fault in Our Stars, I went and did it anyway. And where did that get me? Taylor Momsen raccoon eyes and trying not to sob while hiding out in a corner of a crowded library. I was full out muffled ugly sobbing by the end, as Austin came to terms with his life, and his death.

It was tragic, and beautiful. The only problem I had with it (leading to my 4/5 star rating, is the fact there was a lot of telling and not showing. I get Austin loved Kaylee. He told us every other sentence. But why? He told us that she’s his best friend, and she’s beautiful and lovely. Too much tell, not enough show. Like Sam said in The Perks of being a Wallflower, “I want them to show me, so I can feel it too.”

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Hello

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Goodreads

  • Proudly partnered with

