Don’t Turn Around – Michelle Gagnon

13455542Author: Michelle Gagnon

Rating: 4/5

Purchase from

Amazon | Barnes & Noble |

Books A Million

SYNOPSIS

Sixteen-year-old Noa has been a victim of the system ever since her parents died. Now living off the grid and trusting no one, she uses her computer-hacking skills to stay safely anonymous and alone. But when she wakes up on a table in an empty warehouse with an IV in her arm and no memory of how she got there, Noa starts to wish she had someone on her side.

Enter Peter Gregory. A rich kid and the leader of a hacker alliance, Peter needs people with Noa’s talents on his team. Especially after a shady corporation called AMRF threatens his life in no uncertain terms.

But what Noa and Peter don’t realize is that Noa holds the key to a terrible secret, and there are those who’d stop at nothing to silence her for good.

MY REVIEW. BEWARE, POSSIBLE SPOILERS.

From the very first page, Don’t Turn Around is perfect for fans of Lisbeth Salander and Bourne Identity.

This fast paced, nail-biting thriller begins when Noa wakes up in a warehouse with a scar on her chest, having lost a month of her life from when she was taken to when she first comes to. She’s a street kid, an orphan, who has hacked her way into a fake foster family, earning money by working for a company called Rocket Science under the pseudonym of her fake foster father that she has created in order to escape the system.

Noa soon realizes in her escape that she can’t go home, and can’t access her money. While she isn’t as mentally screwed up or fleshed out as Lisbeth Salander, her resourcefulness and ability to overcome could be coined that she is the teeny version of Lisbeth.

Alongside Noa comes hacker Peter, from the right side of town, who just got himself unknowingly involved with the same people who took Noa. These two end up both belonging to a same hacker alliance, called /ALLIANCE/ (brilliantly coined, right?)

Don’t worry, these two don’t call in love, and the moments when they’re might’ve been some romantic feelings were both awkward, so I doubt they’ll hook up anytime soon in future installments.

While the action begins on the first page with Noa’s awakening, it took me about half the book for me to get into it. But it was still good, and once I got through it, I devoured it until it was nearly five in the morning and my eyes couldn’t stay open any longer.

I highly recommend this novel for those who enjoy reading action packed, fast paced thrillers.

Advertisements
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

  • Hello

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Goodreads

  • Proudly partnered with

%d bloggers like this: