Safe Haven – Nicholas Sparks

10429025

Author: Nicholas Sparks

Rating: 5/5

Synopsis

ove hurts. There is nothing as painful as heartbreak. But in order to learn to love again, you must learn to trust again.

When a mysterious young woman named Katie appears in the small North Carolina town of Southport, her sudden arrival raises questions about her past. Beautiful yet self-effacing, Katie seems determined to avoid forming personal ties until a series of events draws her into two reluctant relationships: one with Alex, a widowed store owner with a kind heart and two young children; and another with her plainspoken single neighbor, Jo. Despite her reservations, Katie slowly begins to let down her guard, putting down roots in the close-knit community and becoming increasingly attached to Alex and his family.

But even as Katie begins to fall in love, she struggles with the dark secret that still haunts and terrifies her . . . a past that set her on a fearful, shattering journey across the country, to the sheltered oasis of Southport. With Jo’s empathic and stubborn support, Katie eventually realizes that she must choose between a life of transient safety and one of riskier rewards . . . and that in the darkest hour, love is the only true safe haven.

READ AT YOUR OWN RISK. IN THE IMMORTAL WORDS OF RIVER SONG, “SPOILERS!”

Everyone has heard of Nicholas Sparks, right? The writer of soul-crushing-cant-breathe-from-sobbing novels, yeah?

This one doesn’t disappoint. I’ve made it a personal goal to get around to reading all his novels eventually. So far, I’ve read A Walk to Remember years ago which really was a bad idea to read IN SCHOOL, because I kept having to hold back sobs and press my fingers into my eyes to not cry and look like a looney tune bleeding mascara everywhere. The second one I read was Dear John, and clearly, I had not learned my lesson about the in school thing, though I was in college at the point of reading that one. The book was so much different than the movie, letmetellya.

And I’ve read The Last Song, which is one of my favorites, because I’m closer in that age group than with the other novels I’ve read. I have The Lucky One, The Notebook, and A Bend in the Road on my shelf, but I try to space out reading Sparks because I hate crying and I usually take my book places with me, and everyone thinks a girl crying over a book in public should be committed.

Anyway, back to SAFE HAVEN. Safe Haven is a very passionate and mysterious story written about a girl named Katie moving to Southport, NC and basically restarting her life. She meets a store-owner, Alex, and his two children and builds a relationship with each of them. She has a mysterious past that is revisited throughout the story. She was married to a detective, Kevin, who had abused her for years during their marriage. You even read Kevin’s POV, and boy, he is not the type you want to mess with. His thoughts on bang, bang, mentally shooting random people in his head reminded me of a terrorist. In one thought, he loves Erin (Katie’s real name) and the next, thinks about killing her. Sparks did justice to his character and how mentally f-ked up Kevin was. Jeez, if I was his wife, I’d run far, far away.

The end of the story was riveting, and I was thinking the entire time Alex was going to die. Because that’s what happens in Sparks, right? Someone good dies.

And the whole Jo thing, gah! I did not see that coming until Katie was dreaming of the ferris wheel and the scene ended saying, “It was Jo.” and Sparks only ends scenes at a pivotal moment, so I was mentally going back and thinking that Jo was Carly, and wow, was I right! The untouched wine, how no one knew about Jo but Katie. Crazzzzzy.

All in all, I loved this book. Great story, writing, suspense, and romance. It’ll leave you trying to read through a heavy cascade of tears. And hey, go check out the movie coming in theaters on Valentines Single’s Awareness Day! I know I will.

Check out the trailer for the movie if you haven’t already seen it on telly!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I love Nicholas Sparks he’s such a good writer, I’ve only read “The Last Song” though, but I have “The Lucky One” on my shelf, that I’m saving for Summer! 😀

    Reply
    • Yeah, he’s amazing. The Last Song is definitely one of my favorite. If you like suspense, Safe Haven has it. And of course, A Walk to Remember and The Notebook are brilliant

      Reply
      • Oh! And have you heard of The Fault of Our Stars by John Green? If you like Sparks, I definitely recommend that book, and his work overall. His characters definitely leave an impression on you

Leave a Reply

  • Hello

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Goodreads

  • Proudly partnered with

