A Beautiful Dark – Jocelyn Davies

10429025

Author: Jocelyn Davies

Rating: 2/5

Synopsis

On the night of Skye’s seventeenth birthday, she meets two enigmatic strangers. Complete opposites–like fire and ice–Asher is dark and wild, while Devin is fair and aloof. Their sudden appearance sends Skye’s life into a tailspin. She has no idea what they want, or why they seem to follow her every move–only that their presence coincides with a flurry of strange events. Soon she begins to doubt not just the identity of the two boys, but also the truth about her own past.

In the dead of a bitingly cold Colorado winter, Skye finds herself coming to terms with the impossible secret that threatens to shatter her world. Torn between Asher, who she can’t help falling for, and Devin, who she can’t stay away from, the consequences of Skye’s choice will reach further than the three of them could ever imagine.

READ AT YOUR OWN RISK. IN THE IMMORTAL WORDS OF RIVER SONG, “SPOILERS!”

Did I hate it? No. Hence two stars.

But that obviously means I didn’t love it. Honestly, I was less than 100 pages from being done before I gave up completely. I get that good plots take time to develop. Believe me, I’m a Game of Thrones fan, where you can go 400 pages without much happening but still has development for the overall story past that. But at least his characters are well written, unlike The Beautiful Dark. It took me soooo long to read it because it was TOO easy to put down. If you’re a reader like me who gets lost in what they’re reading, so utterly lost that you cannot possibily still be here, on this planet, while reading… and yet, infomercials catch your attention more than this book. The cover, in all its beauty, has nothing to do with the book it seems. Shame such lovely covers are wasted on things like this.

Bad Boy
Uses other girls to make protag jealous. Check.
People call him dangerous, despite the fact hes a complete bore. Check.
Watches Skye sleeping. Ugh. Check.

I don’t care how hot a guy is, if I found out he’s breaking into my bedroom window at night, watching me sleep, I am calling the police. Whose to say he’s just watching me sleep? Maybe he’s watching me shower and change clothes, too! Perv. I don’t know how this is romanticized in stories. Nothing’s romantic about a stalker, trust me. It’s terrifying, creepy, and ILLEGAL. And Skye, oh the author tries so hard to be original, because Skye was like “Ewww, you watch me sleep? don’t do it again. Kay?” I’d be like “Hold that thought,” while I key in nine-one-one.

Good Guy
Boring. Check.
Serious. Check.
Boring. Check.
Quiet. Check.
Boring. Check again.
Tries to be mysterious but epicly fails. CHECK!

No, really. I’d like the check please, the service is terrible.

This book is boring. So boring, in fact, that I don’t care about it. At least some books can make me soooo angry, at least I’ll FEEL something for it. Angers better than nothing, right?

And what is it with the parental supervision in books? When I was in HS, my mom worked late but she always came home. She’d never run off for 10 days and leave me home alone. Even if her job required such a thing, she’d have quit because she wouldn’t leave her kids that long. I get Aunt Jo is not Skye’s mom, or blood relation, but really, leaving her alone for 10 days? That girl will either have abandonment issues with how frequent its happened or get pregnant or something.

The writing was boring. The characters, boring. At least it cured my insomnia for one night. That’s a plus, right? Two stars.. yano, for effort and putting me to sleep.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Well that is totally lame. I loved the cover to this but if the story isn’t as good. Meh.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Hello

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Goodreads

  • Proudly partnered with

