New Year’s Resolution

Image

Happy New Years Eve, everyone! I say this as my dogs have finally calmed down their relentless yapping due to the fireworks I hear boom boom booming outside that got them started. Little babies are asleep at my feet, d’aw.

So I didn’t want to clog up my challenge post for the day with this and get it all messy, so bear with me – post two for the night.

I want to talk about resolutions.

I’ve recently seen other resolutions like get fit, eat healthier, get organized, yaddayadda. Mine is a bit different.  Bear with me.

There’s a lyric from this old-school band, Lifetime. No, not the movie network, and no, not Lifehouse. The line goes something like,  “Do you know what it’s like to know not a single thing about yourself, and it’s all your fault?

I kind of see myself in that lyric. I’m a bit at war with myself, I guess, for the most part. I don’t want to do that anymore. I need to start letting more people in,  y’know? Maybe this blog can be a place to rant, aside from the random challenge thing I participated in this past month. It’s like, if I write more about myself, maybe I’ll start to know myself more, too… at least, that’s the plan, I guess.

I’ve noticed there’s people who let it out and people who keep it in. I’m the latter. I mean, yeah, I can talk about this stuff but only to strangers on the internet.

It’s not that I want to be more out there, yano, but it should be nice if I could just let my guard down now and then. I mean, I meet a new person, let’s say at school or something, and it’s like I’m looking at them sideways wondering, like: what’s their angle? what do they want? I know, it’s pathetic, and I probably lose out on a lot of good times because of it. Actually I know I do because all that negative thinking, it’s a vicious cycle.

It’s a self-fulfilling prophecy but it has to stop so maybe, hopefully, opening up myself is gonna help. I mean, the first step is recognizing you have a problem, right? So… Hi, my name is Anna. I’m a pathological skeptic… but I’m trying not to be. That’s my resolution for this year. Opening up to people.

What about you guys, do you have any special resolutions for the year? Don’t leave me alone here to blabber endlessly on my blog.

I think I’m probably gonna move to Alaska now. Later guys.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Hello

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Goodreads

  • Proudly partnered with

