Opal (Lux #3) – Jennifer Armentrout

Image

Author: Jennifer Armentrout
Rating: 5/5

Synopsis

No one is like Daemon Black.

When he set out to prove his feelings for me, he wasn’t fooling around. Doubting him isn’t something I’ll do again, and now that we’ve made it through the rough patches, well… There’s a lot of spontaneous combustion going on.

But even he can’t protect his family from the danger of trying to free those they love.

After everything, I’m no longer the same Katy. I’m different… And I’m not sure what that will mean in the end. When each step we take in discovering the truth puts us in the path of the secret organization responsible for torturing and testing hybrids, the more I realize there is no end to what I’m capable of. The death of someone close still lingers, help comes from the most unlikely source, and friends will become the deadliest of enemies, but we won’t turn back. Even if the outcome will shatter our worlds forever.

Together we’re stronger… and they know it.

READ AT YOUR OWN RISK. IN THE IMMORTAL WORDS OF RIVER SONG, “SPOILERS!”

First off, let me address the ending.

wut. wut. WHAAAAT! NOOOO!!! THIS CAN’T BE HAPPENING!

ahem. I’m done.

Opal is Jennifer Armentrout’s third novel in the Lux series. Not to be confused with The Luxe by Anna Godbersen.

If you liked Roswell in it’s day, or love the idea of hot aliens, this series is definitely for you.

Actually, hot supernaturalish guys, which I’m sure nearly all of us YA readers love.

Let me just say, Jennifer L. Armentrout is one hell of a writer. I want to start her Covenant series soon. But really, she’s a great writer. I’m very picky with what I read, and I only read sequels if I really like the story. So, yeah. She’s right up there with my other favorite YA writers, Cassandra Clare and Richelle Mead.

It doesn’t hurt that our bookish protagonist in the Lux series is a bit too close to myself. No, not the typical bookish protag you might expect in YA that reads Sense and Sensibility nonstop – not that there’s anything wrong with that. Our heroine is a book-loving YA blogger. I get so amused by how she treats her laptop and books as if they were an extension of her soul, because I’m nearly the same. Not to mention, the near violence that Daemon drives her to with his wit and sarcasm between the span of these three books.

Opal was very action-packed and fast paced. Sometimes it was so consumed in the troubles that I was just pouting hoping for another cute Katy/Daemon moment. C’mon, just give me a liiiittle romance here 😛

 “I love you, Katy. Always have. Always will.”

Cmon! Who wouldn’t swoon if a gorgeous guy said that to them? Crazy people, that’s who!

And of course, the humor….

 “Oh, dear God and baby Jesus in the manger, my eyes!” Dee shrieked. “My eyes!”

“Just behave and don’t do anything you’ll regret in the morning.” Her gaze drifted over my shoulder, and she mustered, “Wouldn’t be much.”
“Mom!”
Laughing, she gave me a light shove. “I’m old, not dead.”

….

Now, to the cliffhanger. Jennifer, are you a sadist? Do you like causing your fans pain? DO YOU? These endings are torture! In fact, I’m calling up the DOD and telling them about you and your cruel torture of the fandom. Not to mention, I have to wait until next summer to read the next? You’re right up there with Lord Voldemort. Shame on you.

Read this book. Actually, read the first two before, or you’ll be very lost. Five stars, baby. *slow clap*

Excuse me while I ugly sob.

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Hello

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Goodreads

  • Proudly partnered with

