30 Day Challenge, Day 14

Image

Today’s challenge is:

Do you have siblings? Talk about them.

*cracks knuckles* Beware, this may or may not become a lot of messy jumble to read. Let’s get started, shall we?

I’ll go in order from oldest to youngest.

Lena. Lena was my oldest sister. Past tense, yes. She died in a drunk-driving accident when I was very young. It’s sad, I don’t even remember much about her anymore, just that she was always smiling and laughing. I remember my moms arthritis would make her hands shaky, so Lena took over the hair braiding, ponytail fixing job for her when I was too young to do anything decent with my hair. She was beautiful, I remember that. And her hair was always a mess of blond-brown curls and her hoop earrings would forever be tangled with it at the end of the day.

Nicholas. Or Nick, or d—nevermind. You don’t need to know nicknames. He’s in his mid-twenties, but he’s basically a big little kid. He’s obsessed with superheros, still. Every time a new Batman, or whatever superhero movie comes out, he has tickets to opening night. He has all the Halloween costumes of Spiderman, Optimus Prime, Green Lantern – you name it. We don’t always get along great, but we love each other. The two of us have always been the pranksters of the family, and every April Fools, things get ugly. I put itching powder in his underwear drawer and turn his car into a padalac (imagine monthly feminine products stuck to every surface of a car, and there you go). He plexicuffs me to my bed whilst I sleep and play a Bieber CD nonstop until I scream my head off for help before my eardrums bleed. He’s my big brother. Can’t live with him, can’t live without him.

Jessika is my twin sister. Two minutes after me came this squalling little clone. We were inseparable when we were very little, and looked like miniture clones. Though as the years went by, my hair stayed it’s tangle of messy reddish curls, and her hair straightened into a dark, almost black color. Now, you couldn’t even tell we’re of the same family, much less twins. Our personalities are as different as our appearence. That’s typical of twins, though, or so I’ve read. I’m shy and awkward and bookish, and she was a cheerleader, then what you might dub hipster or emo or whatever. We did our own thing. I’m in college now, and she lives in Pensacola, married and raising her two kids. We’ve always been there for each other, even when there were times we were ready to start pulling each others hair.

Steven, the baby. Well, not so baby anymore. He’s in the coast guard, and recently over the summer, got engaged to this really lovely girl, Morgan. They’re absolutely adorable together. Steven’s so mature, but playful and fun at the same time. I often refer to him as my big brother, even though he’s a year younger than me. Whenever he’s home, he joins Nick’s side in prank wars, which, by the way, is really unfair. Two against one.

I don’t have any pictures of all of us. We’re hardly ever all together, and even as children, you couldn’t get five of us to sit down all at the same time for a picture. Make due with a picture of Nick and I as babyboppers.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Hello

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Goodreads

  • Proudly partnered with

