ReVamped by Ada Adams

Image

Author: Ada Adams
Rating: 2/5 Stars

Synopsis

A simple mission turned deadly.

Nineteen-year-old vampire Dawn has led a sheltered life within the confines of her father’s presidential headquarters. Upon being sent on a mission to revamp four goofy misfits into guardians of a peaceful little town of Angel Creek, Dawn believes that all her dreams have finally come true. What starts off as a simple task, turns into something unexpected, changing Dawn’s life forever and leading the action-loving, thrill-seeking vampire teen on a path of mystery, danger and intrigue.

When a human girl is kidnapped by a group of rogue vamps, Dawn discovers that there is more going on in Angel Creek than meets the eye. And it all connects to Ethan, the cute newcomer who seems too perfect to be true, Sebastian, the mysterious vampire with a turbulent past, and even Dawn herself. Dawn must not only succeed in revamping the troubled recruits, but must also prevent the vampire race from being overtaken by a malevolent villain who has a strange and obsessive fascination with her. As threat escalates, romance blooms, and ghosts from her past begin to surface, Dawn is sure of only one thing: her life will never be the same.

READ AT YOUR OWN RISK. IN THE IMMORTAL WORDS OF RIVER SONG, “SPOILERS!”

I had heard amazing things on GoodReads, which put it on my to-read list for a while. I finally got around to reading it a couple days ago, and I was so thrilled because I was expecting this fabulous story.

To be honest, it wasn’t my cuppa tea. I tended to skim sometimes when descriptions got a bit wordy and became an info dump. The timing in the story flew through in a matter of a paragraph so I felt it was rushed in the sense that the relationships weren’t as developped as they could be. Everything felt rushed.

The world reminded me of True Blood, in the sense vampires “came out of the coffin” and all the references toward Blood Cola, Blood Vodka, yaddayadda. There’s a vampire president who lives in a giant mansion and decides the laws for vamps. Vampires are treated like celebrities and can campaign for equal rights.  I’ve only read one of the TB books by Charlene Harris, but even I felt there were too many similarities.

The characters aside from Dawn weren’t developed. The boys admitting their deep feelings for Dawn had me thinking I missed something, because I didn’t feel any development occuring there.

Dawn was supposed to be this badass vamp girl whose been training her entire life, but she took out a group of older vampires and was severely outnumbered. Even a vampire Jackie Chan would have some trouble taking down a group of vamped out Chuck Norris’s. It was a bit Mary Sue to me.

There’s one scene I wanted to mention, where Dawn and her group of Misfit vampire-human combo go to rescue a dog from a bunch of hipster Woodstock werepups. I wasn’t sure if it was supposed to be funny or what, but I was left scratching my head wondering why in the hell would anyone go and put themselves and their friends into potential danger…. for a dog. Don’t get me wrong, I’d want to kick the evil dastardly do-ers but who stole my dog, but really? What vampires think sits down, and thinks seriously to themselves, “hey, to get this girls attention… kidnap this yapping human’s yappy dog. lets ask a werewolf to do it just so we can introduce werewolves into this story.”

I’m just disappointed. I had this book sitting on my shelf for the last two weeks itching to read it but couldn’t since I had to prepare for finals, and I feel like it was a let down. I wanted so badly to like it, I was forcing myself to find something good about it and it felt short. The plot, while original in some aspects with the vamp cloning Aurora/Dawn thing, could’ve been more developed as a whole.

Like I said, I really wanted to like this, but it just didn’t do it for me. Maybe it’s just the plot line is too out of my interest for me to have ever had a chance to like it, but I’d be willing to read more of Ada Adam’s other series if I catch them.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Hello

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Goodreads

  • Proudly partnered with

